Skip to content
Find Cloud Security

Compare cloud security vendors side by side

Which vendors do you want to compare?

Pick two to five. 2 selected.

Their labels, side by side

The same rows for each vendor you picked.

CrowdStrike Falcon Cloud Security

crowdstrike.com

Categories described6 of 6
CNAPPYes
CSPMYes
CWPPYes
CIEMYes
DSPMYes
Vulnerability managementYes
AgentsAgentless + agent
Clouds namedAWS, Azure, GCP, OCI
Code scanningPartly
AI securityYes
FedRAMPHigh
Air-gappedNot stated
On-premisesNot stated
Open sourceNone named
Public priceMarketplace listing

* Not found on the pages we read; it may exist. Facts as the vendor states them on its own pages and marketplace listings, read September 2026, checked 3 Nov 2026. Not a measure of how well anything works.

Microsoft Defender for Cloud

azure.microsoft.com

Categories described6 of 6
CNAPPYes
CSPMYes
CWPPYes
CIEMYes
DSPMYes
Vulnerability managementYes
AgentsAgentless + agent
Clouds namedAzure, AWS, GCP
Code scanningPartly
AI securityPartly
FedRAMPHigh
Air-gappedNot stated
On-premisesYes
Open sourceNone named
Public pricePublished

* Not found on the pages we read; it may exist. Facts as the vendor states them on its own pages and marketplace listings, read September 2026, checked 3 Nov 2026. Not a measure of how well anything works.

From each vendor's own pages, read in September 2026 and updated on 2026-11-03. Differs marks rows where the selected vendors' recorded status or value is not the same.
FactCrowdStrikeDefender for Cloud
Category map
PositioningCrowdStrike's cloud security module, which pairs agentless posture with the same Falcon sensor used on endpoints.Microsoft's cloud security product: a free posture tier, paid posture and server plans billed per resource, across Azure, AWS and Google Cloud.
Agent approach

Agentless parts, agent for depth

Agentless CSPM; workload protection is split between agentless scanning and the Falcon sensor.

Source: CrowdStrike Falcon Cloud Security, read .

Agentless parts, agent for depth

Agentless VM, secrets and Kubernetes scanning exist, but only in the paid Defender CSPM plan and Defender for Servers Plan 2.

Source: Microsoft Learn: Defender for Cloud CSPM plans, read .

Runtime sensorThe CrowdStrike Falcon sensor, the same agent used for endpoints.

Source: CrowdStrike Falcon Cloud Security, read .

Defender for Servers Plan 1 and Plan 2 bring Microsoft Defender for Endpoint EDR to servers.

Source: Microsoft Learn: Defender for Servers overview, read .

Clouds namedDiffers

AWS, Azure, GCP, OCI

The Falcon Cloud Security page links to AWS, Azure, Google Cloud and OCI pages; Alibaba Cloud is not named.

Source: CrowdStrike Falcon Cloud Security (re-read), read .

Azure, AWS, GCP

Azure, AWS and Google Cloud, plus on-premises machines through Azure Arc.

Source: Microsoft Learn: Defender for Servers overview, read .

CNAPPDescribed

Combines CSPM, workload protection, CIEM, ASPM and AI-SPM under Falcon Cloud Security.

Source: CrowdStrike Falcon Cloud Security, read .

Described

Posture (Defender CSPM) and workload protection (Defender for Servers) are separate plans in one product; the full set needs paid plans.

Source: Microsoft Learn: Defender for Cloud CSPM plans, read .

CSPMDescribed

Agentless CSPM enriched with adversary intelligence.

Source: CrowdStrike Falcon Cloud Security, read .

Described

Foundational CSPM is free; Defender CSPM adds attack path analysis and the cloud security explorer.

Source: Microsoft Learn: Defender for Cloud CSPM plans, read .

CWPPDescribed

Cloud workload protection with agent and agentless options.

Source: CrowdStrike Falcon Cloud Security, read .

Described

Defender for Servers Plan 1 and Plan 2, with file integrity monitoring and just-in-time access in Plan 2.

Source: Microsoft Learn: Defender for Servers overview, read .

CIEMDescribed

CIEM is listed.

Source: CrowdStrike Falcon Cloud Security, read .

Described

Defender for Cloud includes native CIEM, supporting Microsoft Entra ID, AWS IAM and Google Cloud IAM.

Source: Microsoft Learn: CIEM in Defender for Cloud, read .

DSPMDescribed

DSPM is named: discover, classify and protect cloud data.

Source: CrowdStrike Falcon Cloud Security (re-read), read .

Described

DSPM is part of the paid Defender CSPM plan.

Source: Microsoft Learn: Defender for Cloud CSPM plans, read .

Vulnerability managementDescribed

AI-driven vulnerability management is named.

Source: CrowdStrike Falcon Cloud Security (re-read), read .

Described

Agentless VM vulnerability scanning is in the paid Defender CSPM plan and Defender for Servers Plan 2.

Source: Microsoft Learn: Defender for Cloud CSPM plans, read .

Code securityASPM maps business applications onto cloud infrastructure; source-code scanning is not the focus of the pages we read.

Source: CrowdStrike Falcon Cloud Security, read .

Code-to-cloud mapping in the paid Defender CSPM plan.

Source: Microsoft Learn: Defender for Cloud CSPM plans, read .

AI securityDiffersAI-SPM covers AI infrastructure.

Source: CrowdStrike Falcon Cloud Security, read .

AI-SPM in the paid Defender CSPM plan; Defender for AI Services is billed per 1,000 tokens.

Source: Azure: Defender for Cloud pricing, read .

Kubernetes runtimeDiffersWorkload protection for cloud workloads through the Falcon sensor and agentless scanning.

Source: CrowdStrike Falcon Cloud Security, read .

Agentless Kubernetes discovery in the paid Defender CSPM plan.

Source: Microsoft Learn: Defender for Cloud CSPM plans, read .

Private cloud or on-premisesDiffersNot in our sourcesOn-premises machines through Azure Arc.

Source: Microsoft Learn: Defender for Servers overview, read .

Disconnected environmentsNot in our sourcesNot in our sources
Compliance reportingDiffersNot in our sourcesCompliance standards include CIS, PCI DSS v4.0.1, HIPAA, ISO/IEC 27001:2022, SOC 2023, NIST CSF v2.0 and NIST SP 800-53, assignable to Azure subscriptions, AWS accounts and GCP projects.

Source: Microsoft Learn: regulatory compliance standards, read .

Public-sector authorizationCrowdStrike lists Falcon Cloud Security, Falcon Cloud Security for Containers and for Managed Containers among its FedRAMP High authorized products.

Source: Securing Critical Systems: CrowdStrike Achieves FedRAMP High Authorization, read .

Microsoft lists Defender for Cloud in FedRAMP High audit scope for Azure and Azure Government.

Source: Azure and other Microsoft cloud services compliance scope, read .

PriceDiffersNot published AWS Marketplace pay-as-you-go listing that combines Falcon Cloud Security with Next-Gen SIEM: runtime host protection (EC2, WorkSpaces) $0.023 per hour per running host; container cluster and node protection $0.054 per hour per running worker node; Fargate container protection $0.01 per hour per Fargate instance; 30-day free trial with up to $500 in usage credits. CrowdStrike's own pricing page lists endpoint bundles only.

Source: AWS Marketplace: CrowdStrike Falcon Next-Gen SIEM and Cloud Security (pay as you go), read .

Foundational CSPM is free. Defender CSPM is $5.11 per billable resource per month (8 functions or web apps count as 1 resource). Defender for Servers is $4.906 per server per month for Plan 1 and $14.60 for Plan 2. Defender for Containers is $6.8693 per vCore per month. USD list prices, East and Central US; free for the first 30 days.

Source: Azure: Defender for Cloud pricing (re-read), read .

Open sourceNone namedNone named
OwnershipCrowdStrike.

Source: CrowdStrike Falcon Cloud Security, read .

Microsoft.

Source: Microsoft Learn: Defender for Cloud CSPM plans, read .

Head-to-heads for this selection

Frequently asked questions

Why can I only pick five?

Beyond five columns the table stops being readable on a laptop. Use the vendor profiles for the full detail on each.

Why is there no total or score?

We do not score vendors. The table shows recorded facts; the finder applies your own constraints.

Can I share a comparison?

Yes. The selection is in the address bar, so copy the URL.