Skip to content
Find Cloud Security

Upwind: cloud security profile and facts (2026)

Visit Upwind's site

Upwind

upwind.io

Categories described6 of 6
CNAPPYes
CSPMYes
CWPPYes
CIEMYes
DSPMYes
Vulnerability managementYes
AgentsAgentless + agent
Clouds namedAWS, Azure, GCP, OCI
Code scanningYes
AI securityYes
FedRAMPIn progress
Air-gappedNot stated
On-premisesNot stated
Open sourceNone named
Public priceMarketplace listing

* Not found on the pages we read; it may exist. Facts as the vendor states them on its own pages and marketplace listings, read September 2026, checked 3 Nov 2026. Not a measure of how well anything works.

Which categories does Upwind describe?

  • Described on the vendor's pages we read
  • Not in our sources (it may exist; we did not find it on the pages we read)
  • CNAPPDescribed

    Lists posture, identity, data, workload, code, API and detection modules on one platform.

    Source: Upwind homepage, read .

  • CSPMDescribed

    CSPM is listed.

    Source: Upwind homepage, read .

  • CWPPDescribed

    Container and Kubernetes, serverless, and CDR modules, with eBPF sensors.

    Source: Upwind homepage, read .

  • CIEMDescribed

    CIEM is listed.

    Source: Upwind homepage, read .

  • DSPMDescribed

    DSPM is listed.

    Source: Upwind homepage, read .

  • Vulnerability managementDescribed

    Vulnerability management and attack path analysis are listed.

    Source: Upwind homepage, read .

The map shows what each vendor's own pages describe. It is not a measure of how well a feature works.

How does Upwind deploy?

From Upwind's own pages, read in September 2026 and updated on 2026-11-03.
FactUpwind
Agent approach

Agentless parts, agent for depth

Agentless scanning plus eBPF runtime sensors; the design centers on the runtime sensor.

Source: Upwind homepage, read .

Runtime sensoreBPF sensors that baseline cloud activity, network and application flows, with forensic event timelines.

Source: Upwind CDR, read .

Clouds named

AWS, Azure, GCP, OCI

AWS, Google Cloud, Azure and OCI are named as partnerships.

Source: Upwind homepage, read .

Private cloud or on-premisesNot in our sources
Disconnected environmentsNot in our sources

What else does Upwind cover?

From Upwind's own pages, read in September 2026 and updated on 2026-11-03.
FactUpwind
Code securityIaC security, SCA and SBOM, DAST and a container admission controller; SAST is not among its listed modules.

Source: Upwind homepage, read .

AI securityAI inventory, AI-BOM, AI-SPM, an AI sensor, AI detection and response, and offensive testing for models, agents and MCP servers.

Source: Upwind AI security platform, read .

Kubernetes runtimeContainer and Kubernetes security is listed, with eBPF sensors.

Source: Upwind homepage, read .

Compliance reportingSupports CIS benchmarks, HIPAA, ISO 27001, NIST, PCI and SOC 2 compliance with 13-month data lookback.

Source: AWS Marketplace: Upwind Cloud Security Platform, read .

Public-sector authorizationUpwind says it is pursuing FedRAMP Moderate Equivalency; no authorization is stated.

Source: Upwind pursues FedRAMP certification to power trusted federal cloud solutions, read .

Open sourceNone named

What does Upwind cost?

Not published No price on upwind.io. AWS Marketplace, 12-month contract: Upwind Cloud Security Platform $30,000.00 and Upwind Managed Detection and Response 24/7 Service $6,000.00; the unit basis is not described in our notes. 24-month and 36-month contracts are listed as saving up to 8% and 11%.

Source: AWS Marketplace: Upwind Cloud Security Platform, read .

Where is Upwind strong, and where are its limits?

Strengths and limits come from the vendor's own pages and our sources; a limit can be something we did not find.

Strengths

  • Runtime-first design: eBPF sensors, activity baselines and forensic timelines.
  • The broadest module list here, including DAST, API security, ASM and MDR alongside posture and workloads.
  • Detailed AI security: AI-BOM, AI sensor, AI detection and response, and offensive testing for agents and MCP servers.

Limits

  • No price on upwind.io; the AWS Marketplace 12-month contract of $30,000 does not state its unit basis in our notes.
  • A younger company (founded October 2022; 150+ customers per its newsroom), and Upwind says it is pursuing FedRAMP Moderate Equivalency; no authorization is stated.
  • SAST is not among its listed code modules.

What does Upwind say about itself?

The vendor states

Upwind says its live inventory is "refreshed every 30 seconds".

Source: Upwind homepage, read .

The vendor states

Upwind states 93% noise reduction and 15 seconds to detect.

Source: Upwind homepage, read .

The vendor states

Upwind's newsroom lists 300+ employees and 150+ customers.

Source: Upwind newsroom, read .

What has Upwind announced recently?

  • 26 Jan 2026

    Announced a $250 million Series B led by Bessemer Venture Partners and Picture Capital, bringing total funding to over $430 million.

    Source: Upwind: Series B announcement, read .

Who should shortlist Upwind?

Consider Upwind if runtime detection is your first requirement and you will deploy a sensor, or if you want DAST, API security and AI detection in the same platform.

In our example finder profiles, Upwind is in the first group for: AWS and Azure, VMs and containers.

Run the finder with your answers

How does Upwind compare with each other vendor?

Frequently asked questions

Does Upwind need an agent?

Agentless parts, agent for depth. Agentless scanning plus eBPF runtime sensors; the design centers on the runtime sensor.

Which clouds does Upwind name?

AWS, Azure, GCP and OCI. AWS, Google Cloud, Azure and OCI are named as partnerships.

Does Upwind publish its prices?

No price on upwind.io. AWS Marketplace, 12-month contract: Upwind Cloud Security Platform $30,000.00 and Upwind Managed Detection and Response 24/7 Service $6,000.00; the unit basis is not described in our notes. 24-month and 36-month contracts are listed as saving up to 8% and 11%.